As staircases go the one in City Hall, London is fairly impressive. Its understated, simplistic curves and never ending spirals make for one aesthetically pleasing piece of architecture. Residing on the banks of the Thames, near to Tower Bridge the building is most well known for housing Boris Johnson, the Mayor of London among other city officials. Starting from the top I indulged in the view, which unfortunately wasn’t much further than Tower Bridge in all its grandeur (at a squint I could just about make out Canary Wharf in the murky distance). However I was far more taken with the view coming down, it was a slow meandering process that involved stopping at every other step;  but that staircase just doesn’t have a bad angle! I visited City Hall as part of Open House London and I am very tempted to visit again next year as this Norman Foster designed building is possibly one of my favourites!

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. January 30, 2015

    I can’t believe I’ve never been into this building before. I’ve walked past several times before but never took the time to pop in. My boyfriend is an architect, he’d probably love it too. What an incredible staircase! xx

    • March 4, 2015

      It really was an incredible building, with some amazing views! I’m not sure if its normally accessible to the public but I would definitely recommend visiting if its part of Open House London this year! x

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS