EPOTY ExhibitionEPOTY ExhibitionEPOTY ExhibitionEPOTY ExhibitionTidal Surge, Laura Howell A couple of months ago I received some very exciting news – one of my photos had been shortlisted for the Environmental Photographer of the Year exhibition. I was beyond shocked, considering I had entered on the day of deadline, with approximately an hour to explain my work and make sure every last box was filled out correctly (my forte in life – I’m seriously not capable of doing anything in a timely fashion). If I could choose to have my work selected for anything, then I think this would be the one, I’m literally obsessed with landscapes and if I can find an environmental element then my mind kind of goes into creative overdrive. Over 10,000 images were submitted from all corners of the planet, so I feel very lucky to have my work included. All of the images selected show environmental and social issues that both encourage awareness and show the consequences of climate change. Some of the the issues examined were poverty, natural disasters, population growth and innovation. The exhibition was recently being shown at the Royal Geographical Society in London, but its now travelled to Cumbria and will be on show at Grizedale Forest Visitor Centre until the 2nd of November. My shortlisted image shows the after effects of the tidal surge that hit the east coast of England in December 2013. In Hemsby, Norfolk the cliff face gave way to the sheer power of the sea and the damage caused was phenomenal, with many homes left unsalvageable.

 

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS