A while ago I went on a much needed jaunt to Lincoln. Having gone there for University, I pretty much know the place inside out and it was such a welcome return to go back.  I graduated a year ago, so I’ve really missed the place and all of my lovely friends (most of which are still there). I decided it was time for a holiday so me and one of my best friends booked ourselves into the new DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lincoln, ready for a relaxing weekend. I don’t think you can ever be a tourist in your own city, but its completely different once you no longer live there. I experienced everything with fresh eyes, camera in hand and ready to explore. My first point of call was Steep Hill, and yes it lives up to the name! It leads up towards the historic quarter, which is all things quaint and wonderful. Lined with cute independant tea rooms and shops, it was the perfect way to spend a lazy morning just wandering about and drinking tea. Another place not to be missed on my checklist was Lincoln Cathedral in all its grandeur. It dates back from medieval times, although its had lots of amendments since, as well as being attacked by fires and earthquakes! I was really hoping to do the roof or tower tour, but it wasn’t to be. However I did manage to capture the magnificent gothic architecture, so I was slightly consoled. We finished off the afternoon in style, hiding from the rain and drinking champagne.

Comments

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. August 1, 2013

    I really enjoyed your photos showcasing historic architecture landscape!

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS